Hindu Calendar 2024 with Holidays & Festivals

As we step into 2024, it’s exciting to explore the richness of the Hindu calendar, known for its colorful and spiritually significant holidays and festivals. This year promises a kaleidoscope of cultural experiences, each with its unique history and traditions.

Understanding the Hindu Calendar

The Hindu calendar is a lunisolar system, often aligning with the phases of the moon and the position of the sun. It’s different from the Gregorian calendar, which is solar-based. This means Hindu festival dates vary each year when converted to the Gregorian calendar.

January – Pausha / Magha

  • Pausha (ends in mid-January): A time for spiritual reflection. Festivals like Lohri and Makar Sankranti are celebrated.
  • Magha (starts from mid-January): Known for its emphasis on purity and religious observances, with Vasant Panchami being a notable festival.
Date Festival
Jan 01, Monday New Year’s Day
Jan 12, Friday Birthday of Swami Vivekananda
Jan 14, Sunday Makar Sankranti
Jan 15, Monday Pongal
Jan 16, Tuesday Vassi Uttarayan
Jan 17, Wednesday Guru Govindsingh’s Birthday
Jan 24, Wednesday Hazarat Ali’s Birthday
Jan 26, Friday Republic Day

February – Magha / Phalguna

  • Magha (continues until mid-February): Celebrations like Vasant Panchami continue in this period.
  • Phalguna (begins mid-February): Marks the approach of spring. The festival of Holi, celebrating the triumph of good over evil, is the highlight.
Date Festival
Feb 14, Wednesday Basant Panchami
Feb 19, Monday Chhatrapati Shivaji Jayanti
Feb 24, Saturday Guru Ravidas Jayanti, Shab-e-Barat

March – Phalguna / Chaitra

  • Phalguna (ends in mid-March): Concludes with the colorful and joyous celebration of Holi.
  • Chaitra (starts from mid-March): Marks the beginning of the Hindu New Year in many regions with festivals like Ugadi and Gudi Padwa.
Date Festival
Mar 05, Tuesday Swami Dayananda Saraswati Jayanti
Mar 08, Friday Maha Shivaratri
Mar 22, Friday Bihar Diwas
Mar 24, Sunday Holika Dahan
Mar 25, Monday Holi
Mar 29, Friday Good Friday
Mar 31, Sunday Easter

April – Chaitra / Vaishakha

  • Chaitra (continues until mid-April): Navratri and Ram Navami are significant festivals this month.
  • Vaishakha (begins mid-April): A month for religious deeds and charity. Akshaya Tritiya, a day of prosperity and good luck, is celebrated.
Date Festival
Apr 01, Monday Annual Closing of Accounts
Apr 05, Friday Jamat-Ul-Vida, Shab-E-Qadr
Apr 09, Tuesday Ugadi, Cheti Chand, Gudi Padwa
Apr 11, Thursday Eid-Ul-Fitr
Apr 14, Sunday Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Jayanti, Tamil New Year
Apr 15, Monday Bengali New Year’s Day
Apr 17, Wednesday Ram Navmi
Apr 21, Sunday Mahavir Jayanti
Apr 22, Monday Hatkeshvar Jayanti
Apr 23, Tuesday Hanuman Jayanti

May – Vaishakha / Jyeshtha

  • Vaishakha (continues until mid-May): Religious activities are emphasized.
  • Jyeshtha (starts from mid-May): Known for its hot climate and is a time for pilgrimages and spiritual rituals.
Date Festival
May 01, Wednesday May Day
May 07, Tuesday Rabindranath Tagore Jayanti
May 10, Friday Parashuram Jayanti, Akshaya Tritiya
May 12, Sunday Shree Shankaracharya Jayanti
May 23, Thursday Budha Purnima

June – Jyeshtha / Ashadha

  • Jyeshtha (continues until mid-June): Includes the celebration of Ganga Dussehra.
  • Ashadha (begins mid-June): A month marked by the onset of the monsoon and is significant for Guru Purnima.
Date Festival
Jun 06, Thursday Vat Savitri Vrat
Jun 17, Monday Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid)
Jun 22, Saturday Kabir Jayanti

July – Ashadha / Shravana

  • Ashadha (continues until mid-July): Celebrations like Guru Purnima take place.
  • Shravana (starts from mid-July): A holy month filled with various religious festivities, including Raksha Bandhan and Janmashtami.
Date Festival
Jul 07, Sunday Ratha Yathra
Jul 17, Wednesday Muharram
Jul 21, Sunday Guru Purnima

August – Shravana / Bhadrapada

  • Shravana (continues until mid-August): Celebrations continue with festivals like Raksha Bandhan.
  • Bhadrapada (begins mid-August): Known for Ganesh Chaturthi, celebrating Lord Ganesha’s birth.
Date Festival
Aug 07, Wednesday Hariyali Teej
Aug 15, Thursday Parsi New Year Day, Independence Day
Aug 19, Monday Raksha Bandhan
Aug 26, Monday Krishna Janmashtami
Aug 27, Tuesday Nand Utsav

September – Bhadrapada / Ashwin

  • Bhadrapada (continues until mid-September): Ganesh Chaturthi celebrations take place.
  • Ashwin (starts from mid-September): Marks the beginning of the auspicious period of Navratri, leading up to Dussehra.
Date Festival
Sep 06, Friday Hartalika Teej
Sep 07, Saturday Ganesh Chaturthi
Sep 08, Sunday Rishi Panchami
Sep 15, Sunday Onam
Sep 16, Monday Vishwakarma Jayanti, Milad-Un-Nabi
Sep 17, Tuesday Anant Chaturdashi
Sep 21, Saturday Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi

October – Ashwin / Kartik

  • Ashwin (continues until mid-October): Navratri and Dussehra are the main highlights.
  • Kartik (begins mid-October): Considered the holiest month, it includes Diwali, the festival of lights.
Date Festival
Oct 02, Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanthi, Mahalaya
Oct 03, Thursday Durga Puja Ghatasthapan
Oct 10, Thursday Maha Saptami
Oct 11, Friday Maha Ashtami, Maha Navami
Oct 12, Saturday Dussehra
Oct 16, Wednesday Lakshmi Puja
Oct 17, Thursday Sharad Purnima, Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti
Oct 20, Sunday Karva Chauth
Oct 29, Tuesday Dhanteras
Oct 31, Thursday Kali Puja, Diwali, Naraka Chaturdashi

November – Kartik / Margashirsha

  • Kartik (continues until mid-November): Celebrations like Diwali and Kartik Purnima occur.
  • Margashirsha (starts from mid-November): A quieter month, focusing on spiritual practices and austerities.
Date Festival
Nov 02, Saturday Gujarati New Year
Nov 03, Sunday Bhai Dooj
Nov 07, Thursday Chhath Puja
Nov 10, Sunday Akshaya Navami
Nov 15, Friday Dev Diwali, Guru Nanak’s Birthday, Kartika Purnima

December – Margashirsha / Pausha

  • Margashirsha (continues until mid-December): A period for religious activities.
  • Pausha (begins mid-December): Marked by cold weather, it’s a time for inner reflection, leading to the celebration of festivals like Lohri and Pongal in the following month.
Date Festival
Dec 01, Sunday Govardhan Puja
Dec 11, Wednesday Shrimad Bhagwad Gita Jayanti
Dec 24, Tuesday Christmas Eve
Dec 25, Wednesday Christmas
Dec 31, Tuesday New Year’s Eve

 

 

Back to blog